Jan 142014
 

Honeywell-RTH6580WF-Wi-Fi-7-Day-Programmable-Thermostat-0

[reminder : These reviews are from internet – from different stores’ websites. These are not my own reviews]

A good budget wifi thermostat – Could be easier to install…, April 15, 2013 (5 star)

40 of 44 people found the following review helpful

I picked up this thermostat at Lowes. I had expected to pay $150 for Honeywell’s touchscreen wifi thermostat or as much as $180 for last year’s nest. I was pleasantly surprised to see a wifi thermostat option for around $120.

I got the thing home, took down my old thermostat (which had 4 wires R, G, Y and W) and installed this one. I turned my furnace back on and… nothing. It turns out I didn’t have a “c” wire. There were 6 wires coming from the furnace but only 4 of them were used. I removed the cover from my furnace and took a look. Sure enough there was a “C” spot with nothing hooked up to it so I stripped the (unused) blue wire going to my thermostat and connected it to “C”, then went back upstairs and hooked up blue to “C”. I turned on the furnace and the thermostat woke up. I thought I was done. I was wrong.

I now had to connect to an adhoc network called “new_thermostat_somethingorother” and the only way to force my iPhone to believe it was the real internet was to go into airplane mode before choosing it. I got to the wifi setup page, picked my home wifi ssid and entered my password. I thought I was done. I was wrong.

I went to honeywell’s web site, created an account, entered my thermostat’s mac address and checksum. I then got a very nice user interface for entering on times and off times. I was impressed. I thought I was done. I was wrong. The thermostat had to download a software update. I grow sick of buying stuff new and the first thing it has to do when it gets on the internet is send me away for up to half an hour while it updates its firmware. When the firmware update was over I thought I was done. I was wrong.

It turns out that in my haste to get this thing on the ‘net, I skipped setting the date and apparently it doesn’t figure out what day it is over the INTERNET?!? When I turned on the heat, based on the time of day it went to 62 degrees. But it’s Saturday, not Monday right? So I called Honeywell tech support and they had me hold UP and FAN for 30 seconds to get into a diagnostic mode. I then had to scroll to page 39 and change the one to a zero (to delete wifi settings). I could now get to a screen to verify my thermostat knew what day it was. Whew. Now I had to go back and program the wifi settings one last time. This was dumb. Just plain dumb. Hopefully Honeywell fixes this in a future software update to allow date and time to be set through the web interface or make it simpler to set on the thermostat without having to forget wifi settings. Dumb.

This was painful. Painful, but mercifully brief. So why do I give this thing 5 stars? Because it works and works well. I don’t mind an extra half hour or so of monkeying around and I’m pretty sure I’d have almost as much monkeying around if I paid twice as much for a Nest. Since my thermostat lives in a corner behind a grandfather clock, I cannot believe the nest can “just figure out” when I’m home and I’d rather have a wifi-ready, plain and simple, non-touchscreen thermostat than a Nest, because the Honeywell web site is well laid out and easy to use and there is an iOS app that allows me to get in and change settings from anywhere. Another plus for this thermostat is its shape, I don’t have the paint I used in the living room and a small round Nest is going to leave an ugly white square where my old Honeywell manual thermostat used to be for people to see when they walk by the grandfather clock. In short if I bought the Nest, I had to spend up to twice as much AND worrying about matching a paint color from 10 years ago.

I think Honeywell is on the right track with this thing only I say go a little further. Honeywell needs to come up with an even more manual-looking thermostat with only 3 buttons on the thing and have ALL the programming done via wifi. I kept stumbling into programming screens when I was looking for a way to find out what day this thing thought it was. The user interface for this thermostat is just awful. The user interface on the web is great. So why not scrap those extra 4 buttons and give us nothing but up/down and hold? Let us handle the rest over the air. I already own a wonderful touchscreen. It’s called an iPhone. I don’t need another expensive touchscreen attached to my living room wall.

 

Awesome thermostat but not for the Home Depot beginners, March 24, 2013 (5 star)

58 of 66 people found the following review helpful

I am NOT even close to the home improvement type. So if things go south I’m in trouble. I looked over the Honeywell box and Honeywell wisely stated your HVAC wiring to the thermostat MUST have a “C wire” or the new thermostat would not receive power and would not function. So being the cautious person I am I asked three wandering separate Home Depot guys “If there was anyway I could “tell” if I had a C wire. The first guy said, “oh if you have AC you have to have a C wire.” I continued reading the box and another walked by and asked if I needed help. I asked him the same question. He said, “If your home is new you definitely have one”. I then asked #3 and he said, “you should”. And then gave me the “you could always return it”.

So I took the shot and bought it. I followed the directions carefully. I saw plenty of wires going to the existing thermostat so I assumed I was safe as I saw more than 4. I disconnected the old thermostat and began to affix Honeywell’s supplied wire stickers -with a lot of different letters in the alphabet that matched all the letters on the existing and figured I was safe and this would be a simple “swap out”. Well guess what? My new, state of the art home had everything but a C wire. Nervousness sets in. I rip through the quick setup guide and read about “alternative wiring options for those without C wires. It was a very nicely done YouTube video that tells me I will have to use the “G” wire in place of the missing “C” wire. And by doing that I would lose the ability to only run the fan manually. No biggie. Then the video sends me down to the furnace to do the same G to C move on the main panel and then jump the “Y” to “C” with an 18 gauge wire. Yeah I have tons of those laying around my house. Now panic begins to set in. Putting the old thermostat back or worse having no heat in Northern Utah over night in end of Winter or worse, having to call an H VAC guy on a Sunday for “after hours” home service that “costs the same” while I listened to a lecture about not being trained to do this and getting a $300.00 bill did not appeal to me. To finish this long story my neighbor is an electrician. He speaks mostly Spanish but after reading the Spanish enclosed instructions and watching the YouTube video like 4 time he got it to work.

Otherwise an excellent WiFi thermostat system -which I can do and fully understand. It will help a good deal while I am traveling. I am an empty nester. So word from the now wiser, if you aren’t comfortable with this stuff leave it to those that are.

 

Some Issues, January 10, 2013 (4 star)

78 of 84 people found the following review helpful

This thermstat is outstanding. You can monitor and control the temperature, heat vs cool, and the fan auto vs on from your cell phone from anywhere. Right now there is no monthly charge for this capability.

You must have two-wire 24vac power available at the thermostat location to power the thermostat (R or Rc and a C wire). Most existing thermostats act as a simple switch and only have one hot wire (R or Rc)available. If you don’t have the other hot wire “C” available, you will have to run one. The instructions don’t tell you the thermostat receives its power through the Rc and C connections–my heating and A/C systems are separate systems, so I had to modify the wiring to get everything to work–it would have been very helpful to know Rc is used for power and not R.

Once I figured out how to make it work for my system, it worked great for three days. Twelve hours after I left on vacation, the thermostat wifi failed. When I got back from vacation, I determined that my home network was working fine and the thermostat wifi was the problem. Honeywell phone support was very good–I did not have to wait to talk to someone and the guy had me reset and try to reconnect it to the network. He quickly determined that I needed to take it back to Lowe’s and get a replacement. I had no problem exchanging it at Lowe’s and the replacement thermostat has been working great for two weeks now.

The wifi connection goes through a third party website and there is no charge for the service; however, the user agreement states that they can charge for the service in the future. If they start charging, knock off a couple stars.

 

Great thermostat once problems were solved, fix for intermittent connectivity, August 9, 2013 (4 star)

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful

I am really pleased with the function of this thermostat, but there were a few problems that had to be worked through before it functioned perfectly.

First, you need to know if you have a “c wire.” Before buying a new thermostat, you should remove your old thermostat and inspect your wires to see if you have a “c wire.” Our old thermostat did not use a c wire, but there was an unused wire wrapped around the wire bundle. We unwrapped the wire and labeled it “c” as stated in the alternate wiring video on the Honeywell website. Our heating and cooling system’s terminal block already had a wire in the “c” position, so we just added the new c wire so that both wires were connected and it has worked fine.

Second, check the security settings on your wireless router. This thermostat does not function properly with mixed security mode (WPA/WPA2). If you experience intermittent connectivity problems, switch to WPA2-only mode.

When we purchased the thermostat we were using a router that used WEP security, and we had no problems using the thermostat’s wifi. About three weeks after we bought it we changed internet service. To change the settings on the thermostat, you have to press up and fan for three seconds to get into the menu. Then you have to go to setting 39 and change it to 0 in order to set up the new wifi. Be careful in the menu settings. While trying to deal with the intermittent wifi issues, I accidentally changed the system type to Heat Pump. That caused the heater to come on at the same time as the AC and then a fuse blew on the circuit board. So we didn’t have AC for a day. In July. In Texas. Honeywell does not make the menus user friendly, so make sure you are looking at your user manual and you have all of the numbers set correctly anytime you access the menus.

Once we set up the wifi for the new router, it worked for several hours, but then it would no longer connect with our PC or iphone app. This went on for several days. It would lose connectivity, then I would enter the menus to turn off wifi and then turn it on again to get it to connect to the internet. A few hours later the wifi would disconnect again. Then I called Honeywell. As I was explaining the problem, I was trying to explain what solutions I had already tried, when “Daniel” interrupted me with “NO NO NO, don’t do that.” It was apparent that he did not understand what solutions actually work (at least temporarily) with this problem. I told him that I had already tried the solution he offered several times. Then he told me that the problem was my new router. He said I should replace it. The router works perfectly with 12 other wireless devices. I was sure he was wrong. He was. I then googled “intermittent connectivity wifi thermostat.” I got a hit on the Nest website. Here’s what Nest says, “In some rare cases, Nest can experience intermittent Wi-Fi connectivity if the security on your Wi-Fi router is set to a mixed security mode (WPA/WPA2). Refer to your Wi-Fi router documentation to learn how to update your security to WPA2-only mode. Once the security has been updated on your Wi-Fi router, reconnect Nest to your home network.” Nest was spot on. I changed to WPA2-only mode on my router and my thermostat has worked perfectly ever since. Honeywell doesn’t know the solution to this problem, but Nest does.

After finding solutions to the problems I encountered I am overall pleased with thermostat. It is far less expensive than the Nest, but I’m sure Nest must have better customer service. I hope you learn from my mistakes and don’t experience the same issues.

 

Great thermostat, some issues with wifi set-up., February 27, 2013 (5 star)

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

I bought this t-stat for our cabin after having a burst pipe and flooding issue because of the t-stat we had. I watched all of the video installation guides and went on a help forum so I knew what I was doing before starting the process. The installation was fairly easy once I ran the new t-stat wire. Setting up the wifi was a nightmare for me. Everything was fine as I walked through the steps but when I got to the point of connecting to the wifi via the thermostat it would come up with an error message E02 (wrong password). I entered the password correctly each time and tried probably 10 times with both my computer and smart phone. Finally I called support at honeywell. I had a very difficult time understanding what the person was saying because of the accent and after a half an hour of getting know where, decided to call my internet provider. Another half an hour an no closer to finding out what was wrong. Called honeywell again and got a different person this time, with no accent, and in 5 minutes had it figured out. I had to remove my password from my home wifi, disconnect both the home wifi and thermostat and reconnect. SUCCESS!!!

The t-stat is awesome and the iphone app is great. I can change temps whenever I want and get updates if things are amiss! I am giving this t-stat 5 stars because it does everything I want and it should actually be very easy to set-up. I am not sure why two different support personal at Honeywell can have two totally different answers. One who can fix the problem in very short order and one who has no idea what is wrong. I’m not going to take off stars for the support problems at Honeywell.

This is the first day of operation for the thermostat. If something changes and goes wrong I will update!

 

Wireless disconnection & Temperature Control Problems, May 31, 2013 (1 star)

67 of 87 people found the following review helpful

I purchased a RTH6580WF from Homedepot in Feb. The first problem I had was the wifi disconnecting within a couple of hours. This repeated and the router had to be re-booted to re-establish connection each time. Honeywell tech support was of little help, first telling me I had a weak signal and needed a wireless booster. I have been using wireless devices within 2 feet of that exact spot (and further from the router) for years without any problems. My laptops, iphone, ipad, & smart tv wireless all work fine. Honeywell tech support then said my Linksys wireless router was too old and needed to be replaced with a new router. Because I wanted the thermostat to work, I did replace my Linksys WRT54gs with a new Netgear router and the disconnect problems did go away.

Next problem was the temperature control. After sensing an obvious temperature fluctuation with each furnace cycle, I started checking with a fluke meter/thermocouple module with type K thermocouple, and also verifying with the 20 year old White-Rodgers programmable thermostat I was replacing. The Fluke and the old thermostat always matched within 1 degree. According to those devices, the RTH6580WF always displayed 3 to 5 degrees high. Further, during each furnace cycle, the RTH6580WF would remain steady or possibly show a 1 degree change while the other two always showed a 3 degree change. I had the sensitivity set to the most sensitive for a newer energy efficient house with 90+% efficient furnace which I have. I contacted Honeywell support and was told there was no adjustment or calibration for this. I re-installed my 20 year old White-Rodgers and verified that the actual temperature fluctuation during each furnace cycle was less than 1 degree. At this point, I returned the thermostat and exchanged it for another. The second thermostat was possibly 1 degree better than the first, but still was off by 2 to 4 degrees. I do not consider a 4 to 5 degree temperature error acceptable and I returned the second.

I missed the fine print about possibly being charged for the wireless access in the future. Had I been aware of that, I would have declined the terms and returned the thermostat for that reason alone. Something about not knowing the actual cost of a product when you purchase it does not sit well with me.

My final complaint was that the screen lighting and contrast is rather dim making it more difficult to read compared to the screens on other manufacturers thermostats that are available today (ie White-Rodgers blue screen thermostats). I would have also expected that as long as the RTH6580WF required the common for get the 24vac power that they would have provided an option to have the backlit screen stay on so that you do not have to touch it to turn the light on.

I really like the idea of a wireless thermostat, but it has to control temperature better than the two I tried. I also do not wish to let myself get trapped into having to pay some unknown future cost to use someone’s proprietary interface system.

Wifi doesn’t work, unhelpful customer service, June 9, 2013 (1 star)

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful

We had no trouble connecting the thermostat physically to the wall. I have now had it for a little over a month and have only been able to access controls for it from the website or the mobile app on my Galaxy S4 ONE TIME. ONE TIME IT HAS WORKED. The rest of the time, it says it’s having connectivity issues and the thermostat change didn’t go through. I got this thermostat specifically because you can control it away from home and since it doesn’t do that, it’s basically worthless to me.
And don’t bother calling customer service. They are very polite, but are absolutely no help. I’ve called them 4 times and I have also emailed them. The answer I get each time is they “are unable to duplicate my problem” and then they apologize. AND THAT’S IT. No other suggestions, nothing. Complete POS product and company.

Awesome….once you get it figured out, April 25, 2013 (4 star)
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
Picked up this unit on sale from Home Depot but came on Amazon for opinions and suggestions on installing and setting up. Looked like a good buy. I replaced a battery powered unit – had all five wires needed (yellow, white, green, red, and blue). My blue wire (acting as C wire) was not used with the previous unit and I couldn’t find it so therefore I thought I wouldn’t be able to use this one. But on a whim, I turned off the furnace at the circuit breaker, opened up the furnace, took off the old thermostat and low and behold, the blue wire was there – just not hooked up. I wired it correctly, installed the new wifi thermostat, and thought I was good to go.
The unit powered on, I set up the time and date, and right away it was blinking “connection failed.” I looked over and over the quick start guide, and through and through the user’s guide, and searched all I could online for something to fix this. I tried unhooking the unit, rebooting my modem, creating a new wireless network – many times. I thought it was going to be a lost cause and that I’d have to unhook it all and return it. But once again, on a whim, I went into the settings (holding the “Hold” button and second from the left button for three seconds) and I went to setting 39 – the wireless connection. There are two settings: 1 for on and 0 for off. I switched it to 0 to disconnect and the unit immediately went into “Wifi Setup.” I followed the steps in the guides from there and was completely set up in ten minutes. I can now check on the heating/cooling status from a computer and/or iPhone. The programming of the thermostat was simple as well because you can do it right on the computer or phone app.All in all, good investment….if it continues to stay connected. I’ll try to update in the future.UPDATE 1/04/14:
Still one of the best investments I’ve ever made for the house. The unit has never disconnected on me and we were able to check home temperature settings from as far away as the coast of Oregon (live in Wisconsin) while on a road trip. Now we’re in the middle of a deep freeze here in the Midwest and it is awesome to be in bed and if feeling a little chilly, just step up the degrees and fall back asleep. Can’t recommend enough.
RTH6580 wifi thermostat, August 5, 2013 (4 star)
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Everything is good with this thermostat. I would give it a FIVE STARS if it has a function to decrease the temperature swing (i.e., the indoor temperature can be equal to setpoint +/- 1 or +/- 2 degrees).
John
Walmart reviews –  Simple way to add smartphone thermostat control, 01/03/2014 (5 star)

I was able to install this in just minutes and was up and running with the smartphone app soon after. It works GREAT!

 

Walmart reviews –  Great thermostate, 12/23/2013 (5 star)

cant fault this thermostate does what I need it to do. would say if you need more than basic functions from your thermostate you should buy the next model up. this ones great for the standard functions.

 

BestBuy reviews, A complete piece of JUNK, period!, 01/10/2014 (1 star)

I’d give this piece of you know what a negative star if I can.
Installation took over 3 hours for an error code that I could not reset. Called the tech support and found out they are complete useless. Finally was able to reset (by myself# and was able to link with the internet. Then found out that it does not have the temp range control I was counting on. I live in MI. You DON’T want the thermostat #heater# to start/stop every one degree apart. It only needs to kick in when the room temp falls below 2 to 4 degrees from the set temp. For example, set temp of 70, you don’t want the heater to kick in until it reaches 68 #at least# AND doesn’t stops until 71. This option should be on every thermostat.
And because the unit is a super sensitive it will be even worse. I repeat: there is NO option to adjust the start/stop temp range. Basically my heater kicked in every 5 to 7 minutes after each stop #outside temp was 37 last night#.

Call it a sourgrapes or whatever, but not only the product stinks but the product support was even worse. Bought this model at Costco so will be returning this weekend but I’ve already wasted my time, effor and money for buying this scrap. Honeywell let me down bigtime! Never again.

UPDATE #1/9/14): Since December, I’ve been very happy with Nest. Last week we had a massive snow storm with fridged cold at -45 F with wind chill factor. My nest was still only running at 15 minutes apart.

Do NOT buy the Honeywell Thermostat!

BestBuy reviews, Another great Honeywell product, 12/29/2013 (5 star)

1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

What’s great about it: Easy to use and setup

I got this to be able to set my thermostat remotely when I was away. I have had Honeywell thermostats in the past and once again it lives up to it predecessors. Quality product at an affordable price.

I would recommend this to a friend!

BestBuy reviews, Great product that is easy to setup, 11/24/2013 (5 star)

1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

Installation was a breeze, good short manual instructions cover just about every possible configuration needed. Once installed setup is much easier with the WiFi access. One MUST set the modes with the old ‘programming location’ method to choose specific settings (like f.i. to set the dual mode – Auto Heat/Cool – to ‘On’). Connecting to the device via WiFi was easy and has worked flawlessly ever since.

I would recommend this to a friend!

 

Home Depot reviews, No Backup Battery Required. Function Returns after Power Failure, 12/22/2013 (5 star)

I was very concerned when I read a couple of previous posts stating the thermostat would not return to it’s previous setting after a power or internet failure. I am very happy to say those claims are false. I have an occasionally used service garage in Michigan and a 2nd home in Bend Oregon. At both locations I wanted to be able to control the temperature remotely and I was especially concerned about a heating failure that might allow water pipes to freeze and burst like I experienced previously. I extensively tested the thermostat’s ability to continue the way it was previously set after power was restored. I verified that it did so minutes, hours or even days after power was removed and restored. The thermostat has what is called non-volatile memory to preserve the pre-power failure setting.

Not only does the thermostat return to it’s previous setting after a power failure, but an email is sent to people of your choice during the event or if internet connection is lost. Another email is then sent after internet communication is reestablished. An email can also be sent in the event it gets cooler or warmer than the temperature you choose to be notified of.
My one location required a wifi repeater that I bought new off Ebay fro $20. The signal from the wireless router was too weak because it was located across the street but with the repeater the signal is strong and the thermostat works flawlessly.

I found installation very simple by using my green wire as the common at one location and hooking up an unused brown wire for my “C” terminal at the other location.

Home Depot reviews, Worth every penny, 11/7/2012 (5 star)

At first I was hesitant to spend this much money on a thermostat, but in the end it was 100% worth it. I have COMPLETE control over the heating and cooling in my home now. You can dial it in by 15 minute increments any day of the week.

My frustration with older models is that everything has to be done on the unit itself. This involved pushing a lot of buttons and trying to read small type on a greenish yellow backlight. Because of the WI-FI capability on this unit you do all the programming on your computer!

The other great thing is that between the printed guides and videos you watch online, installation was very simple. This is a fantastic product that I would recommend to anyone.

 

Home Depot reviews, So far very good, 1/5/2014 (5 star)

Worked great right out of the box. Make sure you have a “C” wire before buying, this is needed to power the unit and have the wifi running all the time. I’m pretty handy so this installed in a snap for me. I was very impressed with the detailed instructions, big fold out instruction guide with good pictures and the availability of installation videos online. So many other products have awful instructions. The Wifi setup was a snap. Contrary to the other reviews, the WIFI will reconnect and the schedule will be maintained after a power loss. I confirmed this and worked perfect for me.

Home Depot reviews, Holds WI-FI connection well and IT DOES auto-reconnect upon wireless signal loss!, 8/22/2013 (5 star)

This has been a great thermostat. I purchased 1 to test it out and will eventually purchase 3 others for a total of 4 thermostats in my place of business, which is a wedding and reception hall. The reason I wanted remote access control via wifi is because my employees forget to turn off the air conditioning/heat sometimes at the end of the night. I wanted the peace of mind knowing that I can check the system to be sure its turned off. It will also be nice in the winter time to turn the heat on before I go up to the building so it has time to warm up.

There has been confusion as to whether or not these thermostats will auto-reconnect to the wifi network if they lose connectivity temporarily. I can absolutely confirm that they will auto-reconnect. The thermostat actually did lose its wireless signal, and I saw a warning message for a few minutes on the web interface saying that the wifi signal was lost. I left the web page up for awhile and eventually the error message went away and the thermostat automatically reconnected to the wifi network. I also verified this with tech support. I called them and Honeywell tech support said that ALL of their wifi thermostat models will auto-reconnect to the wifi network if the signal is lost.

When I installed the thermostat into the wall, I found that my blue “C” wire was not connected to my blower unit, so I had to go to the blower unit and hook up the blue “C” wire to the “C” terminal. This was fairly easy to do and the thermostat worked great after I did that.

I have been testing out the thermostat using both an internet browser (I use Chrome) as well as the Android application on my Samsung Galaxy SIII. It works great both ways. The easiest way to find the Android app is by searching for “Honeywell” in the Google Play Store. You’ll see the Thermostat app pop up.

Android App Features:
Home Screen
-Current Indoor Temp
-Outdoor Forecasted Temp/Humidity (and 5 day forecast)
System Control Screen
-Heat/Cool/Off Controls
Fan Control Screen
-On/Auto Controls
Schedule Screen
-Ability to schedule heat and cool settings based on the day of the week and the time of day for the entire 7 day week

TIPS:
1) Watch the YouTube installation videos. They do a great job at explaining the installation procedure.
2) Have a laptop with you when you install the thermostat. Setting up the thermostat initially is much easier with a laptop than it is with a phone or a tablet. The initial set up requires you to connect to the thermostat’s built in wifi “network” to configure it.

 

Home Depot reviews, Love it! Highly recommended!, 11/25/2013 (5 star)

I installed myself because of easy to follow instructions.
DOES keep memory when loss of power because you have an online account associated.
I have two in my home and I can easily check/change settings from my iPhone in bed.
The only downside is that the settings on this unit are not lockcable.. and kids may manually adjust on keypad… BUT I can easily change back with my iPhone! or iPad! or Laptop!

 

Click here to buy Honeywell RTH6580WF from Amazon.

Related posts:

 Leave a Reply

(required)

(required)

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>