Feb 252014
 
Lux WIN100 Thermostat

[reminder : These reviews are from internet – from different stores’ websites. These are not my own reviews]

reasonably reliable, August 13, 2008 (4 stars)

119 of 126 people found the following review helpful
I use this thermostat to turn on and off an attic fan when temperatures get too high. I’ve found that every few months mine needs to be turned off and reset, or the fan will just run continously. This is no big deal for my purposes, but if you use it for applications where temperature control is critical for keeping animals or plants alive, check it periodically or buy a more expensive unit.

 

Accurate and a great value, October 6, 2009 (4 stars)

100 of 105 people found the following review helpful

I recently purchased two of these units to regulate the temperature in my bedroom and my living room. I live in a 1 bedroom apartment. The temperature readout is spot on and it’s easy to program. However I do have two complaints:

1. The unit can only program weekdays and weekends. That means you can’t choose a specific day of the week to program. For example, I am never at my apartment on Saturdays, however since Saturday and Sunday must have the same schedule, as well as monday-friday, I’m wasting energy.

2. In order for this unit to work, there MUST be a ground plugged into the outlet. I bought two “DeLonghi HHP1500 Mica Panel Radiator” heaters (they are amazing, I highly recommend) which don’t have a ground. In order for it to work, I had to plug in an extension cord into the thermostat to trick it into thinking the ground was plugged in, then I plugged my heater into the extension cord and it worked.

Overall, I recommend the thermostat.

 

Buy this! It makes the room temperature very stable!, April 3, 2011 (5 stars)

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful

I installed 2 of these in bedrooms and plugged in electric heaters. They maintain the room temperature +- 1 degree even though I lower the central heating temperature to save money. Previously I used the thermostats built into Delongi oil filled electric radiators to control the room temperature. The best I could get was maybe +- 3 degrees. The WIN100 completely solved the temperature stability and targeting problems I was having!

The thermocouple and electronic thermostat in the WIN100 is much more accurate than the built in bi-metalic mechanical thermostats in most portable electric heaters. The bi-metalic thermostats had a scale of 1-6 and I had to set each heater to a different number to get the right room temperature. Also I had to bump the set point up and down depending on how cold it was outside. Probably something to do with varying thermal gradient inside the heater housing… anyway, inherent problem when the temperature sensor is next to the heater.
After installing the WIN100, the room temperature was completely stable!
Programming is straight forward. Typical for an electronic thermostat.

Heater set up suggestions:
1) Use oil filled radiator heaters for bedrooms. They are SAFE, QUIET and don’t make drafts.
2) Set your heater for medium power, not high. Long, low heat input keeps the room temperature more stable. Lower power reduces the chance of overheating and fire if you have a slightly damaged wall receptacle. (If your receptacle is very warm to the touch, replace it with a new spec grade receptacle.)
3) Place the WIN100 on an outside wall. This is opposite what the user manual says, but it will give you a more stable room temperature. The apparent temperature for a person is a function of the air temperature (conduction & convection heating) and the wall temperature (thermal radiation heating). When it is really cold outside, the walls get colder and you need to bump up the air temperature to keep the room “feeling” the same temperature. Putting the temperature sensor on the cold wall gives you an automatic bump in air temperature as needed.
4) Put the heater away from the WIN100 temperature sensor. Put your hand by the WIN100. If you can feel the heat of the heater, it is too close.
5) Put the heater under a window. That’s where most of the cold comes into the room.

 

Why hasn’t someone done this before?, January 30, 2007 (5 stars)

69 of 73 people found the following review helpful

I bought this for use in my garage workshop, to control a small gas wall furnace/space heater. The heater has its own thermostat, but it’s not programmable and it’s terribly inaccurate, prone to wide fluxuations in temperature. This device does a lovely job of keeping the shop comfortable when I expect to be there while letting the place cool off at night to save energy. It’s lovely, and such a simple idea that I wonder who no other thermostat manufacturer seems to offer an equivalent product.

 

The perfect portable thermostat, January 4, 2009 (5 stars)

48 of 51 people found the following review helpful

The LUX WIN100 Heating & Cooling Programmable Outlet Thermostat is the perfect solution for heating or cooling one room. I purchased three (3) units: one for each bedroom hooked up to a small oil-filled radiator to heat the bedrooms in the winter. I don’t like forced air heating because it dries out the air too much. This has not only allowed us to breath comfortably at night, but also cut my electric bill. Although we broke record lows this fall (avg of 30-40 degrees every night for the month of November), my electric bill was the no higher than an avg November. I was expecting a $200-$300 electric bill and it was only $150 for Nov. Not bad for an all-electric three bedroom home.

With the ability to program the temp for each day (four time settings for M-F, and four times for S-S) The Lux WIN100 Heating & Cooling Programmable Outlet Thermostat takes all the work out of remembering to turn on or off the heat (or air). For example, you could set the thermostat to 68 degrees at 9PM, 65 at 3AM, 72 at 6AM, and 60 at 8AM. This could be the M-F setting. You could set the temp for four different times for S-S as well.

Another nice feature is the ability to program the unit without having to be plugged in (armchair programming) thanks to the backup batteries, included. They are of the button cell type, and are supposed to be replaced every year, but I think I will just wait until they die. And last but not least is the “hold” button, which allows you to manually adjust the temp and keep it there, thus overriding the programmed temp settings. It will stay at that temp until you press hold again, thereafter returning to the programmed setting.

The thermostat is rated at 120VAC, 15A — enough power to run most space heaters or A/C units. The unit will operate manually operated heaters (not digital) and manual or digital A/C units if the digital A/C unit has auto on capability after power failure. The thermostat works by cutting the power to the heater/AC unit once the desired temp has been reached.

Thanks, Lux, for a great product!

 

Works fine with one limitation, December 27, 2008 (4 stars)

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful

As with other LUX products(sometimes available in selected models under the ACE Hardware house brand), they are pretty reliable. The only kink I can think of is it’s pre-programming does not allow past 11.45pm shut off and only starts at 6.00am. The programmers at LUX tend to forget there are ‘night-owls’ out there or people who stay up late for whatever reason to work or play. I have another whole house Lux thermostat that has the same limitation. A numerical punch button manual programming (for whatever time you want )feature will be ideal in this instance.

 

Excellent product, June 12, 2007 (4 stars)

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful

I’ve used this plug in thermostat for about 8 months now for both heaters and air conditioners. The programming is straightforward. I will be purchasing a second unit soon. I highly recommend it as a great cost saving measure. The only drawback is that it does not seem to recognize past midnight on Sunday as weekday programming. I assume weekday programming kicks in at the first Monday interval.

 

Great Control, December 9, 2009 (4 stars)

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Just what we’ve been looking for to control a space heater in a RV. Was planning on building our own control using a 110V timer … until I found this. Haven’t had it long enough to test its durability; but outward indications are great construction compared to a different brand of set-back thermostat we recently purchased for the house. Accuracy is right-on; and the comfort zone is great compared to using the heater’s thermostat. Very easy to program. We would recommend this item … can’t build it for this price.

Lux’s website states this is “not for use on Electronically Controlled Space Heaters”; the package states “not for use on Electronically Controlled Space Heaters”; and the manual (downloadable from Lux’s website) states “WARNING: For use only with Air Conditioners and space heaters that automatically restart cooling and heating operation after power reconnection”. So why would one give this item a bad rating because it won’t work with an electronic controlled space heater?? As all three warning indicate ‘If your heater won’t restart when you unplug it and plug it back in, this control will not work for you’.

Also Lux’s website states “Setting Range 45° F to 90° F”. Can’t fault the control because it won’t work at 40° F.

 

Great Programmable Thermostat, October 19, 2009 (5 stars)

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful

This device is way more than I expected.

All I was looking for was an accurate digital thermostat to turn my space heater on and off because the built in thermostats never work very well.

This unit works just like a regular multi day programmable home thermostat.
It has a 4 timer weekday setting, with temporary and permanent HOLD.
And a 4 timer weekend setting, with temporary and permanent HOLD.

For better accuracy, try not to plug the unit into an exterior wall outlet. Sometimes the outlets have a slight draft, and the thermostat may not register correctly.

 

The Win 100 is an outstanding product!, January 21, 2009 (5 stars)

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

I purchased the Winn 100 to control the Infrared healting element I use to heat my barn where our prized dogs sleep. I am totally pleased with the way this device works. I have it set to turn on the 1200 volt infrared light (which is attached to the barn wall) when the temperature drops below 55 degrees and it works flawlessly 24/7. The Winn 100 not only keeps our dogs comfortable during the cold months but it also saves us $$$ on our light bill. I am thrilled with this product and I know you will be too. You won’t be dissapointed!!
Doug in Northern California.

 

HomeDepot.com reviews – Works just as I’d hoped!, December 31, 2013 (5 stars)

Problem with space heaters… their thermostats are unable to do an accurate temperature reading. By having the thermostat away from the heater, one can more precisely set when the heater should turn on. And this thermostat allows for different temperature settings depending on the time of day. Turns any cheap space heater into an even better system than the ones with fancy thermostats.

 

HomeDepot.com reviews – Perfect For My Applicaton, December 8, 2013 (5 stars)

I installed a tankless water heater in my shop for in-floor heating. Not being actually designed for this application, the heater comes with a water temp stat and they don’t work with a regular air thermostat.This programmable Lux is exactly what I needed and it works perfectly.

All you do is plug it into an outlet and plug whatever you want to control into it. It doesn’t get any easier.

In the summer, I will use it for the window A/C.

 

HomeDepot.com reviews – High Quality Product!!!, February 4, 2014 (5 stars)

This product is used inside an insulated Water Well House to maintain a constant 45 F. degree temperature connected to a floor space heater. The Lux 5-2 Programmable Thermostat Outlet is very well built and is very reliable after a couple weeks of use. It is very easy to program the thermostat because the user instructions are well written. Danno

 

After reading all these reviews, if you are ready to buy Lux WIN100 Heating & Cooling Programmable Outlet Thermostat – one of the Best Outlet Thermostats in the market – , here is the link that you can buy from Amazon :


If you are not convinced that this one is for your home, you can keep reading for the other Best Programmable Thermostat reviews through this link.

Related posts:

 Leave a Reply

(required)

(required)

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>